The State Duma ratified treaties and adopted laws on accession of DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions to Russia

Heads of the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics and Zaporozhye and Kherson regions appealed to President of the Russian Federation to consider a possibility of accession of those territories as constituent units of the Russian Federation after the referendums on September 27
Plenary session October 3, 2022

Members of the State Duma unanimously supported adoption of the bills on the ratification of treaties on accession of the Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics and the Kherson and Zaporozhye regions to the Russian Federation. The day before, those bills were submitted by the President of the Russian Federation.

“The accession of the Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions to the Russian Federation is the only way to save millions of people's lives from the criminal Kiev regime. As well as to stop those attacks on civilian population, elderly people, women and children. To protect the right to speak their native language, to protect culture, history and faith,” the Chairman of the State Duma Vyacheslav Volodin Volodin Vyacheslav Victorovich Volodin
Vyacheslav Victorovich
The Chairman of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation of the eighth convocation. Elected in single mandate constituency № 163 (Saratov constituency - Saratov Oblast)
posted on his Telegram channel.

The Chairman of the State Duma recalled that “now the Russian Federation consists of 89 constituent units”. According to him, the residents of the new territories have been waiting for reunification with Russia for 30 years.

“We all should understand: the current situation in Ukraine was caused by the provided assistance to the Kiev regime by the USA ,Washington, and due to the fact that Ukraine has lost its sovereignty. That is the reason why we must value our sovereignty. Its loss would lead to the same consequences. And the ideology of the current regime in Ukraine has become Nazi,” he added at the plenary session.

Vyacheslav Volodin also stressed that “the goals and objectives of the special military operation have been defined, and they will certainly be achieved.”

Representatives of the DPR and LPR, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions attended the plenary session of the State Duma and witnessed the prosses of ratification. Members of the State Duma welcomed them.

The documents on ratification were presented by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Sergey Lavrov. “The process is a logical continuation of the reunification of Russian lands, which began with the accession of the Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol to Russia in 2014,” he said.

The State Duma also adopted four federal constitutional laws on the accession of the Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions to the Russian Federation.

According to the provisions of the federal constitutional draft laws, there will be an interim period starting from the day when the regions became the parts of Russia till January 1, 2026.

Residents of the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye or Kherson regions will be provided with guarantees of protection labor activities rights. Diplomas, civil registration documents, work experience, the right to receive pensions, social and medical assistance, etc., issued in the DPR, LPR, as well as in Ukraine, will be recognized.

Property rights will be also guaranteed. Until January 1, 2028, the residents of those territories will be able to register their property just by providing the documents issued by state authorities of the People’s Republics or Ukraine.

Residents of the new Russian territories, as well as those people who lived there, but had already moved to Russia, will acquire the citizenship of the Russian Federation, they should submit an application and take an Oath of a citizen of the Russian Federation. After that, they will be recognized as citizens of the Russian Federation.

Until June 1, 2023, federal executive bodies will open the representative offices in the new republics and regions. During the interim period, there also will be established prosecutorial bodies and will be implemented Russian judicial system. Within six months it is necessary to form city and municipal districts in the regions, to define the boundaries of municipalities.

The ruble will be the currency of the territories of the new entities. The Ukrainian hryvnia will be used there until December 31, 2022. The Bank of Russia will be empowered to establish the specifics of the activities of credit and non-credit financial institutions.

The budget legislation will be applied in the constituent entities from January 1, 2023. The Government of Russia will establish the specifics of the budgets of new entities for 2023 (for the republics, and for the planning period of 2024 and 2025), as well as the specifics of budget execution and budget reporting. Budgets will be approved by December 15, 2022.

There will be a special regime for regulating town planning activities till January 1, 2028. Then such activities will be brought into full compliance with the Town Planning Code of the Russian Federation.

The Armed Forces, military formations and specialized bodies formed in the new subjects will be included in the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation, other troops, military formations and bodies.

The law includes provisions aimed at ensuring the safe use of atomic energy in the Zaporozhye region. Along with the current legislation, the President and the Government of the Russian Federation may establish specifics in certain areas of the use of atomic energy.

The heads of the People’s Republics, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions appealed to the President of the Russian Federation to consider a possibility of accession of those territories as constituent units of the Russian Federation after the referendums on September 27. An absolute majority voted for the accession of those territories to the Russian Federation. On September 30, there were signed treaties between Russia and the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions on their accession to the Russian Federation and establishment of new Russian subjects. The names of the new constituent units remain the same.