Viacheslav Volodin announced creation of the institution of the CSTO PA partner states

He stressed that it would help to increase the efficiency and openness of the Assembly

“It is proposed to consider the issue of creating a new institution of partnership of the CSTO PA. Partner states will be able to take part in an advisory capacity, participate in preparation of documents and development of collective decisions,” said the CSTO PA, Chairman of the State Duma Viacheslav Volodin Volodin Vyacheslav Victorovich Volodin
Vyacheslav Victorovich
The Chairman of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation of the eighth convocation. Elected in single mandate constituency № 163 (Saratov constituency - Saratov Oblast)
at the meeting of the CSTO PA Council.

According to him, such institution of partnership would help to increase the efficiency and openness of the Assembly.

“Moreover, more and more states are interested in cooperation within the framework of the CSTO PA. In this regard, the status of observers and partners of the CSTO would provide additional opportunities for enhancing inter-parliamentary cooperation with those states and international organizations committed to our principles,” he said.

Viacheslav Volodin also called for strengthening coordination within the CSTO PA to “more effectively promote and protect its agenda” at international platforms.

The CSTO member states are: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation. House of Representatives of the People of the National Assembly of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union of Belarus and Russia and the National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia are the Organization’s observers.