The members of the State Duma are elected by the citizens of the Russian Federation on the basis of universal equal and direct suffrage by secret ballot. A total number of elected members is 450. 225 from 450 are elected in single-mandate electoral (one district is one member), and other 225 members are elected in the federal electoral district in proportion to the number of votes given for the federal lists of candidates.